Home Website Youtube GitHub

Advanced Skeletons vs Mgear - Online Tutorials

Advanced Skeletons vs Mgear Tutorials

I’m honestly quite disappointed with how little information there is for a beginner who wants to learn Mgear from scratch.
I honestly don’t see the youtube channel mGear: Rigging & Animation Framework as a good starting point for a beginner.
Very long and outdated videos, official documentation is incomplete.
Maybe they will answer me that the official channel videos are enough to start with, more material is missing, character guides to download, basic character videos, props rigs, etc.
The solution I had was to buy a course and follow step by step, then plus the youtube videos solidify the basics, I do not see that it is the right way.

1 Like

My personal experience is as follows…
I’m not a rigger but an animator. I wanted to be able to build my rig, so I started learning mGear in late 2023.
I admit it was not easy, but I am happy to say it was exactly as it should be!
What does that mean…
If I compare what I learned from the book in 1999 to what mGear currently offers, it is ten light years ahead. It requires me to persevere, think, and make countless attempts. Now, I’m very happy with what I can do just for one day.

I say all this not to dispute your opinion but to show you another way and use my experience to reach the goal.
I wish you the same because it brought me much more than if I had a step-by-step explanation for everything… Now I can say that rigging is pure art because it is the excellent team responsible for the code :slight_smile:

3 Likes

I don’t learn well from videos, so I found the videos tough too. But I just watched through them all and took notes. I built components and played with them. I made observations and I made even more notes.