Home Website Youtube GitHub

Blocking volume for Chain Spring

Hey guys, I’m new to MGear (and rigging in general), but I was curious, Is there a simple way to set up a blocking volume for the chain springs? For example, my character has two tassels on the front of his outfit with cloth underneath them. I want the chain spring to ideally dynamically bounce off of the cloth if they collide with it rather than clip through.

@Aerys and @soulcage discussed (and implemented) gravity and collisions. As far as I know this was a custom version of the plugins. I don’t think it has ever been added to the official mGear plugins.

A simpler (and much less accurate!) way is that you can add a clamp node to the spring, so that you can add a limit to how it can rotate. I’ve used this to get a very cheap way to prevent hair from moving inside the character’s head.

I run this script to add it to my spring component called “chainSpring”. It adds some attributes you can set to limit how much it is allowed to rotate.

If you aren’t familiar with scripting, ALL I’m doing is adding a clamp limit to the rotation of the chainSpring_C0_spring0_cns nodes and then driving the clamp value with an attribute, so you can set it easily. Those _cns nodes have a pairBlend connection input. I clamp that.

cheapCollisionsSpring

import pymel.core as pm
from mgear.core import attribute

# name this to match your own component's name!
guideName = 'chainSpring'

# Get all the related spring cns nodes
springCns = pm.ls('{}*_spring*_cns'.format(guideName), type='transform')
springCtrls = pm.ls('{}_*_ctl'.format(guideName), type='transform')

hostUI = pm.PyNode(springCtrls[0].uiHost.get())

attribute.addAttribute(hostUI, "{}_minRotX".format(guideName), "float", value=-100.0)
attribute.addAttribute(hostUI, "{}_maxRotX".format(guideName), "float", value=100.0)
attribute.addAttribute(hostUI, "{}_minRotY".format(guideName), "float", value=-100.0)