Home Website Youtube GitHub

Globally assign custom control types

Hi,

I’m new to mGear but have some experience in Python and Pymel. I have been experimenting a bit with mGear and it looks great!

I am wondering if there will be the possibility of globally setting the defaults shapes for controls based on their type. Taking arm_2jnt_01 as an example, I noticed the following pattern:

self.fk1_ctl = self.addCtl(self.fk1_npo,
                               "fk1_ctl",
                               t,
                               self.color_fk,
                               **"cube",**
                               w=self.length1,
                               h=self.size * .1,
                               d=self.size * .1,
                               po=vec_po,
                               tp=self.fk0_ctl)

It looks like addCtl() method from shifter.component.Main ultimately calls a method in mgear.core.icon that creates a curve with parameters based on a string argument (in this case “cube”). Since “cube” is hard-coded into the arm_2jnt_01 code, the default shape for this type of control likely can’t be changed without doing some weird stuff like redefining the “cube” function to actually return a circle, or something similarly weird.

If such functionality were to be implemented, I believe a first step would be to define a global enum or dictionary mapping control “types” to shape arguments, like

CTL_SHAPES = {
    "FK": "cube",
    "IK_Eff": "circle",
    "IK_Pole": "flower",
    ...etc.
}

Or instead of a global, such a mapping could be assigned on a per-object basis, similar to how control colors are currently handled.

The addCtl() calls could then be modified to pass a dict value (e.g., CTL_SHAPES[“FK”]) instead of a literal string, while still preserving the ability to hardcode shapes for backwards-compatibility, if desired.