Home Website Youtube GitHub

Is mGear right for me?

Hi guys, I’m an animator and would like to start rigging my own characters. I have been trying to decide between mGear, AS and MRS. Ive narrowed it down to mGear and AS cause MRS documentation is so fragmented it makes my head spin.

I want to know if learning mGear is worth it for me or even possible. AS seems easier but I’m concerned about its possible limitations down the line. First i would only have 3-5 characters max in a shot at the same time so performance i not a big issues as i know mGear is faster but AS should be ok. What other use cases would mGear really be better at when talking about animating abilities on a single character? Something AS wouldn’t be able to do? Like better dynamics/secondary animation or better facial rigs for more expressive animation? What can mGear do that AS cant when just focusing on a single character from a animators point of view?

Also I dont know any scripting so this would be without scripting. Building a guide with a few controls was easy enough so far.

Lastly, i tried all the free rigs from this forum and i wonder why is it that i cant control both translation and rotation from a single wrist control when in IK? Translate will work but when i switch to rotation nothing happens. And it happens in all free rigs listed so its not a one off issue. Every other rig I’ve used from AS, MRS and my own assets from Animation Mentor all can rotate and translate from one hand/wrist control in IK so what am I missing?

Thanks for any input shared
Ive been trying to decide this on my own for 2 weeks and need to hear from people actually use mGear. Asking mentors at AM didnt help so i really tried before bothering you guys.
Thanks again.

That’s a checkbox setting on the arm guide that you can choose when you build your rig.