Home Website Youtube GitHub

Leg_3jnt_01 Not Building in Right Place

Hello. I’m pretty new to mGear, so hopefully this is a rookie mistake. I’m using Leg_3jnt to create the legs on a stylized insect, and they aren’t all facing forwards. The front legs (which are facing forwards) work perfectly. However, the middle and back pairs of legs (facing 45-degrees and 90-degrees away from the front) are building with the knees and ankles in the wrong position.

I’m experimenting with using a post script to manually move them to the right spot, but this feels hacky.
Any suggestions?

I’m on mGear 3.79, and unfortunately can’t upgrade due to my client’s pipeline.

Hi @mrVal I’ve just upgraded your user level, so now you should be able to post screenshots. That might help figure things out.

Or can you share a guide file to look at?

If you just moved the knee sideways to “rotate” the leg, it might not work as expected. You might have to only bend the knee in a forward angle, and then rotate the entire root of the guide. Or maybe there is a bug.

1 Like

Hi Chris, thanks for the quick response! I’m attaching here a screenshot of the guides and resulting legs, as well as a Maya file with just the offending guides included.

Maya file.

I was careful to keep everything planar when positioning the guides, so I don’t think that’s the issue.

Interesting update: Sometimes the legs work properly if I only build the leg… but if I build the entire rig they always build out of place.

I’ll try to take a look this weekend.

But if you change some of the space switches, does it pop? Or pop back into correct position? I wonder if any of the space switch constraints are flipping or something. That could possibly explain why it works when only the leg is built.

I would appreciate that very much.

I went back in and tried the following:

• Removed the space switch references
  • Changed from spring solver to RP solver
  • Tried different space switches