Home Website Youtube GitHub

mGear 3.4.0 problem in maya 2019?

Hi,
I’m very new to mGear, but I can already see this is an incredibly powerful rigging tool. I have big plans for it with my personal projects.
I’ve been following the data centric rigging youtube playlist, and building my biped rig in maya 2018 on my laptop. However, I only have maya 2019 on my workstation at home.
I got as far as finishing session 04: Guide placement 03 and I transferred the guide scene to maya 2019.
When I built it, it froze maya. When I build it in maya 2018, and transfer across, the rig works fine. But I can’t build it in maya 2019.
When I just create a simple ik chain, it builds fine in maya 2019, so I thought maybe there’s a problem with creating the guide in one maya version but trying to build it in another??

I concluded I’ll start again in maya 2019, as it will be good to repeat the exercises.
I got as far as creating the global control, local, COG, hips and spine. I created the first leg ik chain, and as suggested in the tutorial, to build it. It completely crashed maya to desktop.
Nothing I do can seem to fix this issue.
I was wondering does anybody have any suggestions at all for trouble shooting, or would there even be value in going back through versions of mGear to find one that plays nicer with maya 2019?

Thanks!
Colin

What OS?

Are you able to open an already-built rig in Maya 2019? Just to confirm that mGear is installed properly?

In 2019, when you first open Maya, or open the guide, or when you first build the COG, do you see any suspicious errors or warnings?

Can you please explain how you installed mGear. Which method did you use?

Hi,
Thanks for getting back to me so quickly.
I’m on windows 10. I installed it by putting the path in the maya test file as outlined here:

Yes, if I build the tutorial rig (as far as I got on maya 2018) and then just open it in maya 2019 it works fine. I just can’t build it without maya freezing.