Home Website Youtube GitHub

Gimmick Joints vs Blendshapes

Why should i use Gimmick Joints and dont go straight to Blendshapes?
Im a Modeler so i would just use Blendshapes.
In wich case are Gimmick joints the better solution?

I assume a combo of both would give me the beste result?

Hi again @oglu

Some people like some techniques better than others. Both comes with good and bad things.

I always go to blendshapes because I think you can achieve more detailed deformation (and anatomy preservation of the asset characteristics) when sculpting shapes than with joints but I have been proven otherwise in the past… I just prefer blend shapes because if you want to achieve the same level of details on complex assets with just joint base things you end up compexifying the rigs.

That been said you need to know that the issue with blendshapes is as well how things get driven and how sculpts combine themselves. RBF driven nodes are not always understood by riggers and same goes for cone base ones because sometimes riggers themselves fail miserably explaining them.

The only constructive advise I have on this is for you to handle this with a technique you feel comfortable with but be sure you understand all the implications of your choice.

Myself I only use joints base corrections in situations where I can’t drive the correction with a single transform/joint.

2 Likes

Hi Jerome that is great info.
I will go with Blendshapes first.

gimmick joints (intermediate joints) is a very old technique (before dual quartenion exists) to preserve volume and getting good deformation around a pivot…
the advantage is, that you dont have to provide for every rotation axis a blendshape with driven keys, wich when it comes to gimbal can be very painfull to fix…
(i.e. in shoulder area you could make for every loop a gimmick-joint with distributed weights to get a nice smooth deformation…also helpfull in ellbow, hip, knee areas or spine…)

1 Like