Home Website Youtube GitHub

Help : Having control on shape Leg-Arm

Hello !
I’m a beginner in rigging.
Here is it, I want to create a rig where you can have a control of the shape of the legs and/or arms during animation. I found that you can do this by creating clusters, but I didn’t find how to do it exactly and how to connect it with the Mgear rig. To sum up, I want to do something like the picture below. If you have any idea of how to do it, I would gladly take any advice !

Thank you very much for your time

Hi Elvira,

You don’t need clusters. Some of the Shifter components already have this feature built right into the limb rig.

The mGear Shifter biped template uses the basic leg_2jnt_01. It does not have this feature.

Instead, try out leg_2jnt_freeTangents_01 and arm_2jnt_freeTangents_01. They let you bend the upper and lower limb, as well as shape your knee and elbow with tangent controls.

legtangents

3 Likes

Hi Chris !

Thank you very much !
I tried it and it worked well, it was exactly what I wanted, thank you again for you time.

Hello again !

I tried to use leg_2jnt_freeTangents_01, but I’m not sure that I did it in the right way because I don’t have the same thing. I posted here the screen. I added the leg_2jnt_freeTangents_01 in my guide line before building the rig, throught the Guide Manager, is this the right way to do it ?
test bend rig

Thank you for your time

Hi Elvira,