Home Website Youtube GitHub

How to apply FK/IK match?

Hi again Miquel

Another simple question for you. How does the animator apply FK/IK match. I only see FK/IK blend under the arm and leg controls.

Thanks
Gavin

is in the synoptic view :wink:

Is it? I don’t see it. Excuse my ignorance but this is my first time animating an mGear character rig, and it’s the first time my colleague rigged in mGear (and in a rush), so everything is new, and things have possibly not been set up correctly?

If it’s the buttons “IK/FK Arm left” etc, then when I left click these
Can’t find object : arm_L0_fk0_mth
Can’t find object : arm_L0_fk1_mth
Can’t find object : arm_L0_fk2_mth
Can’t find object : arm_L0_ik_mth
Can’t find object : arm_L0_upv_mth
Can’t find object : arm_L0_ikRot_mth
// Error: root : Uncaught exception
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “C:\Users\gavinm\Documents\maya\2017\modules\scripts\mgear\maya\synoptic\widgets.py”, line 121, in mousePressEvent
utils.ikFkMatch(model, ikfk_attr, uiHost_name, fks, ik, upv, ikRot)
File “C:\Users\gavinm\Documents\maya\2017\modules\scripts\mgear\maya\synoptic\utils.py”, line 600, in ikFkMatch
transform.matchWorldTransform(ikTarget, ikCtrl)
File “C:\Users\gavinm\Documents\maya\2017\modules\scripts\mgear\maya\transform.py”, line 537, in matchWorldTransform
sWM = source.getMatrix(worldSpace=True)
AttributeError: ‘NoneType’ object has no attribute ‘getMatrix’ //

Looks like the rig is missing the nodes to help match the IK FK. Or can’t find it for some reason

Hard to say without checking the rig.

Check if rig have objects with the _mth suffix

I hope this helps

Hello, Miquel.

I have the same issue with ik/fk match. It does not work only when i build rig with check-box “IK separated Trans and Rot ctl” in arm`s module settings is disabled.

I get this in script editor:

Can’t find object : arm_L0_ikRot_ctl
Can’t find object : arm_L0_ikRot_mth
# Traceback (most recent call last):