Home Website Youtube GitHub

Spine Hip Issue

Hi! It has brought to my attention some sort of misbehaviour regarding spine components.

As you can see in the video, the hip rotation affects the upper part of the spine badly ONLY when the FK controls are not at 0. Is this due to a spine IK limitation or a bug?

Cheers!

Unhide the components of the spine (spine_C0_mst_crv), and you’ll see it is a matter of order of operation.

When you rotate the FK controls, you are rotating the joints away from the tangent of the spine. The FK is the child of the IK.

spine_FK_01 has the IK as the child of the FK.

1 Like

Thank you, Chris!
Cheers!

I’m struggling with this exact problem, as an animator I want to give movement to the hip and don’t affect the movement in the upper body, specially the shoulder/neck area.

I’ve switched my rig to FK spine component, but even so, there is movement on the top when you use the hip control.

on the gif, ignore the Translation movement, my problem is with the rotation of the last spine joint.

I expect the hip control to be separate from the spine, like the clip bellow. and I think this is what @Milio was looking for too ?

maybe I doing something wrong, like grabbing the wrong control, or having the wrong guide settings?

Hi @Gui I don’t think so. I think you are describing a different problem.

There is no “hip control” in the spine_FK_01 component or the spine_IK_01 component.

If I’m not mistaken, I think you are moving “spine_C0_ik0_ctl”, right? This is the lower IK tangent control of the spine. It has nothing to do with “hips”.

If you want hips, make a hip control! What I do is use control_01 and I make a “hips” and “chest” controller. The hips control parents everything below the spine. The chest control parents everything above the spine. And I use them as offset controls that don’t affect the spine at all.

2 Likes