Home Website Youtube GitHub

Maya 2020.2 crash when opening rig

Hi ! :grinning:

I’m using mGear 3.6.0 on a Maya 2020.2. I started working on a rig and after some basic work (skin with NgSkinTool with custom nodes baked) I can’t open my animation scene anymore… It loads, freezes and instantly crash.

What’s strange is that I worked a few hours on this animation scene with this rig version before…

I found some answers about my interrogations here: http://forum.mgear-framework.com/t/crash-opening-scene-with-baked-controls/1531: Maya 2020.2 is not stable.

To test this I opened my scene in Maya 2018 and Maya 2019: the animation scene opens and loads the rig without errors…

I know that the problem comes from Maya but is there something mGear dev can do to prevent the 2020.2 instability ? I’m a student and the school don’t really want to rollback to 2019…

Hey @Augu
Great news! Maya 2020.3 has been released
https://help.autodesk.com/view/MAYAUL/2020/JPN/?guid=Maya_ReleaseNotes_2020_3_release_notes_html

So HOPEFULLY, this resolves the issue you are experiencing. But the only way to be sure is to give it a try. Let us know how you get on.

cheers

1 Like

It’s funny because we had similar issues with Maya 2019.0: started working on characters in mGear 3.4, no issues at all, and one day Maya decides to start crashing. Installing Maya 2019.3 solved the issue for us. Seeing this when I was starting to consider switching to 2020 at some (near) point in the future does not give me a lot of hope from the Autodesk side.

@Rafael, are you aware if there’s been a poll in the forums regarding the Maya + mGear version that people are running?

@iker.mozos Hey, no I am not. But that would be great information to have on a quarterly basis.

I would hope they would be as up to date as possible with mgear. But I know shows like to “lock in” when they can.

@Miquel Should we have a poll?